none
SSIS Excel File Refresh.

Question

• Hello all, brand new to the forums and i need some help :-).

So i am new to SSIS and trying to use it to update some Excel files on a sharepoint.  The script seems to be working but it does not save the file.  I think what is going on is the SSIS script is opening it in Read Only.  Because when i open the file from my computer i always have to hit the yellow button at the top to "Edit Workbook".  Can anyone tell me if there is a command i can use to scipt clicking that button?

Yo.
    Monday, January 09, 2012 6:06 AM

Answers

• As this works in BIDS but not management studio, I would guess it is one of the following:

1: you don't actually have MSOffice on the server that the package has been deployed to

2: permissions - it may be that you need to use alternative permissions to access the excel file but that the permissions do not have access to run the query in excel - how is that set up? windows authentication or a hardcoded username/password?

Rgds Geoff
    • Marked as answer by Eileen Zhao Monday, January 23, 2012 2:38 AM
    Tuesday, January 17, 2012 9:44 PM

All replies

• Hi,
    Try to check you file properties if it set to read only or not if read only change it.
    To write file you must use it as destination in your data flow.

I hope this is helpful.
    Elmozamil Elamir

MyBlog

Please Mark it as Answered if it answered your question
    OR mark it as Helpful if it help you to solve your problem
    Elmozamil Elamir Hamid
    http://elmozamil.blogspot.com
    Monday, January 09, 2012 6:41 AM
  • It is not set to read only.  If i click "Edit Workbook" i can immediatly start working on and saving the document.

The document is also set as the destination in the data flow.  I can paste the code i have if u would like.

Monday, January 09, 2012 7:26 AM
  • Here is my code....

using System;
    using System.Data;
    using Microsoft.SqlServer.Dts.Runtime;
    using System.Windows.Forms;