none
SQL 2012 - Executing maintenance plans ends in "error code 0x6e. [SQLSTATE 42000] (ConnIsLoginSysAdmin)"

Question

• Hello,

I'm new to MS SQL 2012, new to MS SQL at all, so sorry for this noob question, if it is one. I'm running a SQL 2012 instance with a maintenance plan configured for backup. Since a few days the maintenance plan fails with following error:

[298] SQLServer Error: 15404, Could not obtain information about Windows NT group/user 'mydom\myuser', error code 0x6e. [SQLSTATE 42000] (ConnIsLoginSysAdmin)

In the past the maintenance plan was executed successful. The mentioned user "mydom\myuser" is member of Domain Admin group. I searched the web and found thousands of hits for this error but none could provide me a answer, why the maintenance plan fails suddenly.

Some words about my configuration:

The SQL Server Agent is running/configured as "NT Service\SQLSERVERAGENT" in SQL Configuration Manager. I do not use a AD Domain user for SQL Server Agent. SQL Server is configured to use Windows Authentication. I also determined, that in lusrmgr.msc there is no local group (e.g. SQLServerMSSQLUser$computername$MSSQLSERVER) where "NT Service\SQLSERVERAGENT" is listed as a member.

Maybe the following information is valuable:

At the day the maintenance plan stoped working, there was a change in AD structure. Some OUs was created and User and Computeraccounts was moved to these new OUs (incl. the SQL Server Computeraccount). Maybe this is the reason?

Thanks in advance,
    Carsten

Friday, March 01, 2013 9:49 PM

Answers

• After endless research, i got this issue solved. The link TiborK provided didn't match to my situation, because the user accounts aren't disabled or something like that. The user who owns the maintenance plans are still active in AD.