none
Database 'msdb' cannot be opened

Question

• Anyone help?

I opened SQL Server management studio and tried to connect with the local database and received the error message:

Database 'msdb' cannot be opened. It has been marked suspect.....

I have pasted the only error from the event log I could find below, but it doesn't mean much to me.

In the event I can't find what the problem is, and not being a database administrator, can anyone tell me what I can do to get back in working order without messing up all the databases in my SQL Server 2005. I'm afraid I only have a MASTER backup from several months ago, and am afraid if I use this, I will loose the latest data. I'm a novice, and do not understand the relationship of the master/msdb/model databases to my core custom databases. Can I do some sort of master rebuild without affecting the other databases I have?

I have tried sp_resetstatus but this didn't fix the problem, but  it did  enable me to actually connect to the SQL server instance so I could access all the other databases.

Many thanks
    Gerard

Event log error detail:

The log scan number (152:284:1) passed to log scan in database 'msdb' is not valid. This error may indicate data corruption or that the log file (.ldf) does not match the data file (.mdf). If this error occurred during replication, re-create the publication. Otherwise, restore from backup if the problem results in a failure during startup.

Tuesday, June 06, 2006 2:24 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Gerard,

There are a few things you need to do:

1. Work out what happened to make msdb go suspect.
      • Take a look at the SQL Server errorlog (if you have a single instance installed in the default path, this will be in the 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\LOG' directory) and the Windows application event log (use the Event Viewer from the Administrative Tools menu from Start). Look for any indications of disk or IO problems.