none
T-SQL to connect to latest table

Question

• Hi Folks

I am new to T-SQL, so was looking for some help with a script. 

I have some monthly tables. There names consist of a static and "dynamic" component (i.e "sales_" being static, and the YYYYMM part  changing each month. For example 

1. Sales_201212
    2. Sales_201301
    3. Sales_201302

I need a T-SQL script to connect to the previous months table.  So if the code was run on the 15th of  Feb 2013, I want to return all sales from the "Sales_201301" table. Similarly if I can the code back on the 7th of Jan 2013, I would want to return all values from the "Sales_201212"  table.

My assumption has been the script would use a combination of a datepart  and getdata () expression such as 

select *
    FROM 'Sales_' + convert(nvarchar(4), datepart(yyyy, getdate()) + convert(nvarchar(2), datepart(mm, getdate())))

Can someone help me out here?

Regards

Steve

• Edited by Fox_00 Thursday, February 14, 2013 7:36 PM
    Thursday, February 14, 2013 7:34 PM

Answers

• I agree with Serg  but if this is something out of your hands try below. if the tables are big, think about partition and test if that helps.

declare @sql nvarchar(max)
    set @sql = 'Select * from test' + CONVERT(VARCHAR(6), DateAdd(month,-1,getdate()), 112)
    select @Sql
    Execute sp_executesql @sql

Hope it Helps!!

• Marked as answer by Fox_00 Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:10 PM
    Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:08 PM

All replies

• With a design like that you need  dynamic Sql http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms188001.aspx

I strongly advice that you redesign your tables.

Serg

• Proposed as answer by Naomi NModerator Thursday, February 14, 2013 7:48 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by Fox_00 Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:00 PM
    Thursday, February 14, 2013 7:40 PM
  • I agree with Serg  but if this is something out of your hands try below. if the tables are big, think about partition and test if that helps.