none
Unable to back up my SQL Server 2005 database

Question

• I am new to SQL Server and so far have been finding it useable but opaque and confusing. 

I created a SQL Server database by upgrading my Access database, then I added ASPNET files to it.  I have been using the database successfully for developing a website using Visual Studio 2008.  I now need to modify the database.  Prior to making any modifications, I wanted to be sure I had a good backup. 

I am trying to use SQL Server Management Studio Express to do the backup.  When I try to do anything with my database in this application, I get various error messages (5173-unable to attach database, 945-inaccessible file) or nothing happens.  I am not able to expand the database (nothing there).  When I right click on the database, the backup and restore options are greyed out in the dropdown menu.

The database does not seem to be corrupt.  I can view it, expand it, query it, and use it to run my website in VS2008.  I closed VS2008 before trying to back it up as I assumed that having it in use would prevent a backup.

Looking for solutions to the problems I'm having in SQL Server Management Studio, I find various complex and inscrutable solutions that mostly seem to involve the log file.  Everyone seems to have a different method and I am hesitant to try any of them for fear of making things worse--since I presumably do not have a backup.  (I gather that simply and easily copying the file the way I would copy an Access db would not serve as a backup.)

What is the log file anyway and why do I need it?  I cannot open it in any readable form and it just seems to be there to cause trouble.  I just want to back up the database.  Can anyone tell me how to do that?

LouatMonaco

Tuesday, September 24, 2013 7:19 PM

Answers

• This why we have Google