none
Access->ODBC->SQL "untrusted domain" 18452 error

Question

• I have a number of client databases written in MS Access connecting via ODBC to SQL 2008. The databases were originally developed on WinXP and Access 2003. They were used successfully when opened on Vista and Windows 7 on machines that are actually on the domain. The problem began when I upgraded my own development machine to Windows 7. I began receiving the now-famous 18452 error -- that I couldn't connect to the database from an untrusted domain.

Because I am a consultant and contractor with numerous clients, attaching to the domain is less-than-preferable. (In some cases, it might even be a violation of security and NDA issues with other clients.) Therefore, I need to be able to continue to develop and use these databases in the manner that I was able to do before.

This is the particulars and what I have tried/determined so far:

• The SQL server is in mixed mode authentication -- which is why I have been able to do this for 3 years.
    • I can connect to the server (and other servers on the domain) and browse directories, etc. as long as I use a login prompt with my domain ID. This used to be enough to then permit connection to the SQL server. However, in Windows 7, this is no longer the case.
    • I can connect to the SSMS using SQL Authentication.
    • I can connect to the SMSS using Windows Authentication if I use the much-publicized "runas /netonly" hack. (This hack is not usable, however, for an Access mdb or mde file because you can only use it for exe files.)
    • I can connect via ODBC from Access if I use SQL Authentication.
    • I have added the connection information for the domain and all servers in the (apparently useless) Credential Manager to no avail.