none
Backup / Restore to different server - "Media family is incorrectly formed"

Question

• I am very new to using MS SQL Server.  I offered to help a friend out not knowing what I was getting into.

I have a .bak database, I downloaded and installed MS SQL Server Express 2005 - 9.00.1399.06 and I using Management Studios.

I right click on Databases, select Restore Database - select FROM Device: and I get this error.

TITLE: Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express
    ------------------------------

An exception occurred while executing a Transact-SQL statement or batch. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Express.ConnectionInfo)

------------------------------
    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

The media family on device 'F:\afmfirearmsdb.bak' is incorrectly formed. SQL Server cannot process this media family.
    RESTORE HEADERONLY is terminating abnormally. (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 3241)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&ProdVer=09.00.1399&EvtSrc=MSSQLServer&EvtID=3241&LinkId=20476

And when I run the following command that I found on these forums

RESTORE VERIFYONLY FROM DISK='f:\afmfirearmsdb.bak' 

I get this error:

Msg 3241, Level 16, State 7, Line 1
    The media family on device 'f:\afmfirearmsdb.bak' is incorrectly formed. SQL Server cannot process this media family.
    Msg 3013, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
    VERIFY DATABASE is terminating abnormally.

I am very much a noob when it comes to working with this stuff, so all the help would be awesome.

Thanks

Sunday, January 23, 2011 7:55 PM

Answers

• Where did the afmfirearmsdb.bak file come from?  This error can occur when you attempt to restore a database backup that was taken with SQL Server 2008 onto a server running SQL Server 2005.  If the backup is from 2008, you will need to use SQL Server 2008 Express to restore it - backups (and databases) are not backwards compatible with older versions.
    Monday, January 24, 2011 2:25 AM