none
Why do I Suddenly get lots of deadlocks?

Question

• Hi!

I have been developing for a SQL Server 2005 (and ASP.NET 2.0) website for some years. After some updates I did last week I suddenly get lots of deadlock when I do some database calls. I sporadically get the following error:

"Transaction (Process ID xx) was deadlocked on lock resources with another process and has been chosen as the deadlock victim. Rerun the transaction."

The strange thing is that I have never ever had those problems before. There are 3 things that I can think of relates to the problem:

1) Some new indexes use ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS  = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS  = ON which I haven't used before. As for as I understand, these options should avoid deadlocks, and not produce them. So I cannot understand why this should produce the errors.

2) I use the StateServer for storing the sessions in ASP.NET, which is completely new to me, and it sounds pretty far fetch that it could produce the errors.

3. I have also added some new triggers. I sounds resonable that this can be a problem. I have however not managed to pinpoint the exact triggers that cause the problem.

So my questions are:
    Does it sounds reasonable?
    Are there any additional things that might cause the problems? (remember that these are completely new problems for an alredy pretty large site)
    Is there any way to locate possible deadlock-problems before they occur?

I hope you have any ideas. Any help would be appritiated. Thanks!

Regards
    Olle
    Wednesday, September 03, 2008 10:11 AM

Answers

• After some emailing with Jonathan he found out that I had set some rather stupid lock attributes on my indexes. This simple query solved my deadlock issues:

sp_msforeachtable 'ALTER INDEX ALL ON ? SET (ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON)'

Thanks Jonathan!
    Thursday, September 11, 2008 7:23 AM