none
Can't connect to local SQL Server 2008 Database from VB 2010 Express

Question

• Hello,

The following likely will make it obvious that I’m a newb, but I’ll start off by saying that my knowledge is very limited…

I’m trying to create a VB tool to manage a couple of databases and I can’t connect to my own local databases using the connection wizard in VB.  My OS is Win7.  I’m running SQL Server 2008 R2 32-bit and am using Visual Basic 2010 Express.  When I browse the path from VB 2010 using the Database Configuration Wizard, I get the following error message:

“Select SQL Server Database

MyDatabase.mdf

You don’t have permission to open this file.

Contact the file owner or an administrator to obtain permission.”

Well, since I am the file owner and the administrator, I’ve tried contacting myself to no avail…

I don’t know if this is a windows security issue or a SQL security issue.  I presume it’s a SQL Server admin setting that needs to be set.  How do I set my databases to be read/write from my local machine?

Thanks,

Peter

Peter
    Monday, February 21, 2011 3:16 PM

Answers

All replies

• This one might help.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sqlexpress/thread/42707a11-d691-4a4c-bfc7-a9243a6e7168/

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows]
    • Marked as answer by JustMee Monday, February 21, 2011 3:56 PM
    Monday, February 21, 2011 3:37 PM
  • Dave,

Thank you! 

When I ran VB as Admin, I got access.  The problem was the file was in use, despite not being open.  Reseting the database Autoclose option to true as detailed in the link your provided fixed the issue. 

Peter

Peter
    Monday, February 21, 2011 4:00 PM
  • Good to hear. You're welcome.

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows]
    Monday, February 21, 2011 5:29 PM