none
Can't access Config Mgr. Cannot connect to WMI provider. You do not have permission or the server is unreachable SQL 2005

Question

• Hi, I'm getting the below message when i try and access SQL Config Manager on my Windows Server 2003 box running SQL Server 2005 SP3.

"Cannot connect to WMI provider. You do not have permission or the server is unreachable. Note that you can only manage SQL Server 2005 and later servers with SQL Server Configuration Manager.
    Invalid namespace [0x8004100e]"

I've looked at lots of forums and most suggest running mofcomp below but this does not work, there is no sqlmgmprovider*.mof file anywhere in the machine:

C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Shared>mofcomp "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Shared\sqlmgmproviderxpsp2up.mof" or sqlmgmprovider.mof

I can see all the databases in SQL Server Management Studio ok and can connect.

I'm stumped !! I'm a SQL novice, any help greatly appreciated. One thing i'll mention is the C:  drive did run out of space, but whwther that's got anything to do with it?

Tuesday, October 04, 2011 8:34 AM

Answers

• Hi Manish

I have already tried what was in the link you supplied, as stated at outset, the MOF file doesn't exist. Thanks

I have also restarted the Server twice (Therefore restarting the WMI Service), this did not work.

I finally restored a backup of the server last night and this is working, strangely the sqlmgmprovider.mof file doesn't exist on my now working one. What is this MOF file for then ?

Thanks

UPDATE: This problem is now resolved, I restored a backup of the server. I have a feeling some files may have been deleted, and it's working fine now and there is no sqlmgmprovider.mof file so this obviously isn't required.

• Edited by wbljb14 Wednesday, October 12, 2011 8:54 AM
    • Marked as answer by wbljb14 Wednesday, October 12, 2011 8:54 AM
    Wednesday, October 05, 2011 7:28 AM

All replies