none
Composite keys

Question

•  

Hi, I'm new to Analysis Services and have been reading the Kimball book in addition to the book by Melomed, Gorbach, Berger and Bateman. Unfortunately, none of these books adequately explains the role of composite keys within multi-dimensional modelling. Coming from a relational background, I know conceptually what a composite key is - although the only time I have ever used one is when specifying a primary key for an assignment table bridging a many-to-many relationship.

I would greatly appreciate if someone could provide an explanation, preferably with examples, that illustrate the implications of failing to, or incorrectly specifying the composite key for a dimension. Additionally, I would greatly appreciate any general rules-of-thumb and guidelines on when to use composite keys (especially identifying situations where they MUST be used) and what the implications are on using them, in terms of the correctness of queries and the data hierarchies themselves.

I also understand the obvious performance penalty associated, but I am more interested in implications on correctness and some simple examples.

I have tried to search for some laymens examples to no avail on Google and in general, am disappointed in the literature associated with Analysis Services available on the market. I apologize this is a relatively simple question but I'm having a hard time adjusting to thinking in "multi-dimensional" terms

Thank you kindly!

Phil

Monday, June 02, 2008 8:41 PM

All replies

•