none
Management Studio for SQL Server 2005 Standard

Question

• I'm new to SQL Server and am just getting started with it. I received a copy of SQL Server 2005 Standard edition from the Launch Party here in Ottawa and successfully installed it on my server yesterday. I've look around the Internet, as well as the DVD for SQL Server Management Studio, but I have been unable to find it. The only thing that I have been able to find the the Management Studio Express which targets SQL Server 2005 Express. Can someone direct me to the Management Studio that targets the Standard edition?

Thank you.
    Tuesday, December 06, 2005 8:36 AM

Answers

• Here's the deal. It sounds like you installed something from the Client Components install but not Management Studio. This means that you need to run it in maintenance mode. To do this, go to "Add or Remove Programs", find the entry for "SQL Server 2005", select it and hit the Change button. Under the section for "SQL Server 2005 Common Components" you'll see an entry for "Workstation Components", select it and hit the next button. Keep following the dialogs until you come to one called "Change or Remove Instance", be sure to select "Change Installed Components". The Feature Selection dialog will appear. Expand the "Client Components" node, select "Management Tools" and click next. Follow the remaining dialogs. After setup runs you should find "SQL Server Management Studio" in the Start menu.

Cheers,
    Dan
    Tuesday, December 06, 2005 10:59 PM

All replies