none
SQL Server 2012 STIG

General discussion

• Hi, I'm looking for expertise from the DBAs out there. My background is not in SQL so, some things I just haven't been able to get figured out.

1. Too many Vulnid's to list - Steps to setup TDE using PKI Certificates. (Cert provided in .p12 format initially)

2. Vulnid:SQL2-00-015300 -  SQL Server method of monitoring security-relevant configuration settings to discover unauthorized changes.

3. Vulnid:SQL2-00-014900, SQL2-00-015100, SQL2-00-015200 - SQL Server timed job that automatically checks all system and user-defined Functions, Triggers, and Stored Procedures for being modified. (With notifications)

I know the STIG is Draft, I still need to secure these items though. Any Barney style help on these items would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Friday, November 01, 2013 4:59 PM

All replies

• For other readers: STIG = Security Technical Implementation Guide

Let me step back a little:

What is your actual concern?

"too many vulnid's"?

Which vulnerabilities are you referring to? The list is public.

The latest security hole inside the Microsoft SQL Server engine is back from version 2005 (!)

-> We are not at a Oracle Forum here ;)  (I am totally serious actually :)

Of course this does not mean, SQL Server cannot be attacked, but

-> What exactly do you want/need to protect against?

While encryption of databases becomes more and more common, I have barely ever seen a customer actually monitoring system objects (they are quite well protected in SQL Server anyways)

Actually I have kind of a list of possible attack scenarios on SQL Server listed there: Security Session „SQL Attack..ed“ – Attack scenarios on SQL Server ("Hacking" SQL Server)

After all, security can be a very broad topic, so I would advise to first concentrate on the requirements given.

Andreas Wolter | Microsoft Certified Master SQL Server

Blog: www.insidesql.org/blogs/andreaswolter