none
Enable User Instances in SQL Server

Question

• I'm just starting out and trying to connect to my first database using the following string:

Data Source=.\SQLEXPRESS;AttachDbFilename=|DataDirectory|\RFPdb.mdf;Integrated Security=True;Connect Timeout=30;User Instance=True

I get the following error during debug:

"Generating user instances in SQL Server is disabled. Use sp_configure 'user instances enabled' to generate user instances."

I've done this on every database - Master, Model, Tempdb, etc, and my database.

Still get the error.  I may not be enabling it correctly.  Any help would be appreciated.

The documentation suggests that I use user instances so that users without Admin rights can work with the database.  Add, delete, edit data.  Is this true?

Sunday, February 19, 2006 6:02 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Open the SQL Server Management Studio Express. This is the downloadable program in the same site where you downloaded the SQL Server 2005 express used to manage SQL Server 2005 Express.
    In the query editor type this text: exec sp_configure 'user instances enabled', 1.
    Then type: Reconfigure.
    Then restart the SQL Server database.

Good luck.

KaBalweg™
    Monday, March 13, 2006 11:05 AM

All replies

• is the database on your local machine or are you trying to connect through remote machies. Remote connections will not be allowed.
    Sunday, February 19, 2006 6:11 PM
  • Local database that I will eventually deploy with the product for local use only.
    Sunday, February 19, 2006 6:30 PM
  • Try using User Instance=False. User Instance is a special feature in express edition that allows normal users to have owner privilges and I guess this is not what is require here.
    Sunday, February 19, 2006 9:02 PM
  • When I turn User Instance Off I get the error:

"A database with the same name exists, or specified file cannot be opened, or it is located on UNC share."