none
Unable to load DLL 'sqlceme35.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

Question

•  

I'm new to ADO.NET and need help with this error.

Currently running Vista Home Premium 64 and Visual Studio 2008 Trial.

1. Create Win form app.

2. Add new data source...

3. New connection - SQL Server Compact 3.5 - Northwind.sdf

4. Highlight Products and Suppliers.

5. Drag both onto Win form

6. Run with debug

7. Error message "Unable to load DLL 'sqlceme35.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)"

some blogs advice change dir in SQL Server Compact 3.5 in regedit but regedit doesn't even have SQL Server Compact 3.5; only SQL Server\SQLExpress.

reinstall SQL Server Compact 3.5 and problem still exists.

anyone knows how to fix this problem?

Tuesday, January 01, 2008 7:38 AM

Answers

All replies

• Laxmi blogged about this issue here:

Can’t find P/Invoke DLL sqlcemeNN.dll

Wednesday, January 02, 2008 3:31 PM
  • I installed the SP3 for SQL CE and even reinstalled it but problem still exists.

I don't understand this part:

"You are using Visual Studio Auto Deployment (F5) feature.  And, VS has failed to map the System.Data.SqlServerCe.dll to the right set of cabs to install and just deployed the System.Data.SqlServerCe.dll alone (Note: No error is thrown).  In this case, the native DLLs are not deployed.

a.       Fix the auto-deployment issues (Don’t ask me how L)

b.      Manually copy and install the SQL CE Cabs (all the 3 cabs).  They are located under:

%VisualStudioInstallRoot%\SmartDevices\SDK\SQL Server\Mobile\v3.0\<platform>\<processor>"

Can you clarify to where all the 3 *.cab support to go to?

Wednesday, January 02, 2008 5:20 PM
  • I'm seeing the same problem with Beta 2 of Visual Studio 2008 on Vista Ultimate x64.

I'm unclear about where the cab files go as well.

Jeff

Sunday, January 06, 2008 4:49 PM