none
Custom Code in SSRS

Question

• Hi, I am extremely new to SSRS.  I was wondering if anyone knew if you could write SQL inside the Custom Code box and then call the results then to be displayed in the field by the normal methods?  If you can, could you show a brief example of syntax?  Any help is appreciated!  Thanks guys and gals!
    Thursday, July 23, 2009 8:33 PM

Answers

• Sure.  When you say "write SQL in the custom code box" I'm taking that to mean "writining Visual Basic.NET code in the Code Window to concatonate together a SQL string and then execute the dynamically-built SQL statement for a data set."

Here's how:
    Write a query in the TSQL query designer that returns the fields you need.  The logic, filtering and sorting don't matter.  Execute the query once to define members of the fields collection.  Close the query designer and on the Dataset Properties dialog click the little function key (fx) by the query window.
    Delete the query text or cut and paste it to build the query any way as you want.  The query must return the same fields as before - but you can sort, filter and write conditional TSQL branch logic til the cows come home. (I've personally never had a cow come home to my place in the subburbs.)

VB concatonation looks like this:

="SELECT Field1, Field2, Foo, Bar FROM <<some complicated query>> " &
      " WHERE Foo > 19 and Bar <" & Parameters!FooBar.Value &
      " ORDER BY Foo, Bar DESC;"
    Paul Turley [Hitachi Consulting] SQLServerBIBlog.com
    Friday, July 24, 2009 5:13 AM
  • Yes you can define multiple datasets in each report.  You can then define multiple data regions (list, table, matrix, chart, etc.), each bound to a particular dataset.

HTH,
    Robert
    Robert Bruckner   http://blogs.msdn.com/robertbruckner
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Tuesday, July 28, 2009 4:15 PM