none
Exporting Stored Procedure Results to Excel

Question

• I'm new to Integration Services and going through the learning challenges one often faces when employing unfamiliar technology.  I've created a simple package that executes a parameterized stored procedure and returns the results (multiple rows) into an object variable.  How do I export the results to an XLS file?  Do I have to use a script task to do this? 

Regards,

Orlanzo

Friday, November 09, 2007 8:33 PM

Answers

• Just wanted to clarify a little - instead of an Execute SQL, you should add a Data Flow task to the control flow. Then open the Data Flow, and add a OLE DB Source. Put your stored procedure in that OLE DB Source, and then connect the green arrow from that to an Excel Destination.

The Execute SQL task doesn't actually pipe data anywhere. It can store the data returned from a Select into a variable, but not directly into Excel.

Saturday, November 10, 2007 3:08 AM
  • The import wizard uses that execute sql task to create the execel file used by the excel destination component in the dataflow. The excel destination component does not create the file for you; the file has to exist when the dataflow task gets executed; otherwise it fails. (here is an example: http://rafael-salas.blogspot.com/2006/12/import-header-line-tables-into-dynamic_22.html)

I Don't have experience using SP in the OLE Source components; and it looks like you have applied the workarounds I have seen before in this forum; so I cannot offer further help there.

Monday, November 12, 2007 1:38 PM

All replies

•  

Orlanzo,

There is a data flow component called "Excel Destination". Use that to configure the output and the results will be directly placed in the excel file.

- Pavan

Friday, November 09, 2007 8:40 PM
  • Pavan,