none
SSIS Package - Data Conversion Error

Question

• Hello,

I'm fairly new to SSIS. I have built a few simple packages for populating a SQL table with data stored in a flat file (pipe delimeted) or exporting table data to a flat file. I am working on a package now that is for populating a SQL table with data contained in a flat file (as mentioned above, I done this successfully before). I am receiveng an error stating "Data conversion failed. The data conversion for column "DailyAccrualAmt" returned status value 6 and status text "Conversion failed because the data value overflowed the specified type.". The column contains a value that has up to 8 digits to the left of the decimal point and up to 7 digits to the right of the decimal point. I have verified that both the field in my SQL table and the column settings in my Flat File Connection are both set to Numeric (8,7). I have also tried Decimal (8,7). I don't know why I'm receiveing this error. I also make sure the flat file and SQL table are both closed before trying to run the package. Any help in resolving this error will be greatly appreciated. The entire error message is below:

Thank you,

Dave

SSIS package "LnServAccrualInfo.dtsx" starting.

Information: 0x4004300A at Data Flow Task, DTS.Pipeline: Validation phase is beginning.

Information: 0x4004300A at Data Flow Task, DTS.Pipeline: Validation phase is beginning.

Information: 0x40043006 at Data Flow Task, DTS.Pipeline: Prepare for Execute phase is beginning.

Information: 0x40043007 at Data Flow Task, DTS.Pipeline: Pre-Execute phase is beginning.

Information: 0x402090DC at Data Flow Task, Flat File Source [1]: The processing of file "\\Fs-03246\Extract Generator Files\LnServAccrualInfo.asc" has started.

Information: 0x4004300C at Data Flow Task, DTS.Pipeline: Execute phase is beginning.