none
Reusing a dimension table in a tabular model

Question

• I'm new to tabular models and SSAS in general, so I'm looking for a best practice.

I have two unrelated fact tables that reference the same dimension table (Vendors).

What is the best way to build the cube(s) and minimize the memory footprint?  Do I have to import the Vendors twice?  Or is there a way for each fact table to reference a single instance of the Vendors?

I know I can put both fact tables in the same cube and have them each reference the Vendors table, but that seems to create other problems when users think they can query across both fact tables.

Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:44 PM

Answers

• That's a tough one, Dayne. It's kind of a "yes and no and maybe". 

I suppose you have some choices in Tabular for 2012:

1. You could use perspectives to hide the fact tables you don't want as part of a query.  But with 30 fact tables, I think probably this is not a practical idea (30 perspectives? no thanks!).  And anyway perspectives can be circumvented by users since they choose them when making a connection--they can still choose "none of the above" and get the entire model in one pivot table.

2. You could set all of these extra relationships as inactive, and only activate them for calculations that are needed.  But if you're providing an ad-hoc pivot table environment, maybe this won't meet your needs...beause the USERELATIONSHIP is leveraged in calcuations--not in pivot tables.  For an illustration of this see http://msbiacademy.com/Lesson.aspx?id=87.  If what you need from each of these 30 fact tables is a small number of calculations each, you could actually make this work (users wouldn't only calculated measures, and your calculations would activate the appropriate query).  But compared to using Multidimensoinal role-paying dimensions--still much more complex to implement and maintain.