none
how to access to a remote SQL server database?

Question

• hi everybody,

I'm really a beginner with database and I don't know how can I access by example with SQL server management studio (express or not) to a remote sql database which is based on a remote server through internet.

When I start SQL server management studio express I can put "name of the server" and authentication but I really don't know what to put here. Do I need to put a remote IP address? Does it work like that?

Can i access to a remote database with SQL server management studio or I need something else?

What I want to do is to begin, access to this database, and then, I would like to copy a table from this database to a local SQL server.

Any help will be really appreciated!

Thanks

Sunday, September 05, 2010 10:21 AM

Answers

• 1) Do you think the express version is sufficient to do that? Yes

So I tried to choose SQL Server Authentication as you have said. Then I have to give connection and password. What Do I need to put in Connection field?   My SQL server is partner hosted so I just need to know how to access data and I ask to my partner to give me the right parameters.  you can use <IPaddress>\instancename

2) Thanks for the import/export wizard link. In fact, I need to update periodically a table in a SQL server with a table in "remote domain Outside SQL server". Could i do that with the export import wizard because I need with this tool I could do that only once?  In express edition ther is no SQL Server agent that mean you can not have a scheduled job running.

Thanks a lot.

• Marked as answer by Ai-hua Qiu Monday, September 13, 2010 7:31 AM
    Sunday, September 05, 2010 3:47 PM

All replies

• >>When I start SQL server management studio express I can put "name of the server" and authentication but I really don't >>know what to put here

First of all when you same remote do you mean SQL server is on the same network domain or outside?