none
Agent message code 20084. The process could not connect to Distributor 'distribution'.

Question

• I have a pull subscription created. The subscription was initialized with backup. But cannot get around this error. Two servers SQL 2008 R2. Same domain.  Windows server 2008.

I have read many blogs about this error but have not read one that helps me. I have tried local admin/domain admin window account. SQL accounts with syadmins rights. Each account is on the PAL list. I am able to access SQL server with either account VIA SSMS. I am able to select and execute stored procedures under theses accounts.

What I'm I missing?

Thanks

Friday, April 13, 2012 8:38 PM

Answers

All replies

• It sounds like the distribution agent process account does not have sufficient permissions to connect to the Distributor.

Verify the distribution agent process account has sufficient permissions:

• db_owner in the distribution and subscription databases
    • member of the PAL
    • read permissions on the snapshot share

Brandon Williams (blog | linkedin)

Sunday, April 15, 2012 4:20 AM
  • Account:

• Is a member of the PAL.
    • Has full access to shapshot share.
    • Has sysadmin permissions.

Monday, April 16, 2012 1:27 PM
  • As it cannot connect, this might be a name resolution issue.

Can you post the job step that you are using to do the pull with here? If the subscriber is a SQL Server it will be a SQL Server Job. Select job properties, Steps, Run Agent, click the Edit button, select the entire string and post it here.

Then for the server listed after  -Distributor  in this string, try to ping it from the command prompt on the subscriber. Do you get a response? Does TraceRt work?

looking for a book on SQL Server 2008 Administration? http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Server-2008-Management-Administration/dp/067233044X looking for a book on SQL Server 2008 Full-Text Search? http://www.amazon.com/Pro-Full-Text-Search-Server-2008/dp/1430215941