none
Convert UTC time to local time

Question

• Hello,

I am new with the reporting services. I am creating a report and I need to display date/time on the report. But the servers stores those date/time in UTC. How can I convert them to the local time in my report.

Thanks for your help.

Thursday, December 29, 2005 3:40 PM

Answers

• Try this instead:
    =System.TimeZone.CurrentTimeZone.ToLocalTime(Fields!DateTime.Value)

-- Robert

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 3:51 PM
    Owner
  • You need to use System.TimeZone.ToLocalTime(UTCTime).

See http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.timezone.tolocaltime.aspx.

You should be able to use TimeZone.CurrentTimeZone if you want to convert using the server time zone.

Thursday, December 29, 2005 8:09 PM
  • Report expressions are executed on the server, therefore it is the timezone of the server.

I think the closest you can get is to add for instance a hidden parameter populated/set with a specific timezone value.  The report would then need to take into account the parameter's value to perform timezone conversions.

-- Robert

Monday, October 08, 2007 12:18 AM
    Owner

All replies

• You need to use System.TimeZone.ToLocalTime(UTCTime).

See http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.timezone.tolocaltime.aspx.

You should be able to use TimeZone.CurrentTimeZone if you want to convert using the server time zone.

Thursday, December 29, 2005 8:09 PM
  • Hello,

i tried this tip with no luck.

I used the expression = System.TimeZone.ToLocalTime(!Fields.DateTime.Value) in one of my cells and got an BC30469 error.

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 11:45 AM
  • Try this instead:
    =System.TimeZone.CurrentTimeZone.ToLocalTime(Fields!DateTime.Value)

-- Robert

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 3:51 PM
    Owner
  • Robert,

thanks alot. Works like a charm.

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 7:16 AM