none
SQL Server Express 2008 R2 - Connect to Server Error

Question

• I have recently downloaded and installed SQL Server 2008 R2 on a new laptop (Windows 7).  The install completed successfully and I encountered no issues.  However, when I start SQL Server Management Studio, I am unable to connect to my server instance.  I receive the following error:

"Cannot connect to DWHS (my server name)"  "A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server.  The server was not found or was not accessible.  Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections.

Did I incorrectly setup some of the settings regarding how the instance is configured when I installed?  Any help would be appreciated.

Saturday, February 19, 2011 5:31 PM

Answers

All replies

• I might add that I am not a database administrator, rather than I am a business analyst looking to learn work on my skills writing transact-SQL and also to start to learn some of the administrative side of SQL Server.  So if this seems like a really silly question, please excuse my inexperience in setting up a database instance.
    Saturday, February 19, 2011 5:56 PM
  • are you giving the right server name ?check wether sql services are running and make sure that you are giving correct name . I hope you have installed sql server database engine .

How to find server name: