none
No errors received when calling SSIS from C# under erroneous conditions

Question

•  

I am new to SSIS, and have created a very simple package.  I am playing around with a C# console app which loads/executes the package, just to familiarize myself with the SSIS runtime.  I wanted to see what sort of errors I would receive if I passed erroneous data to the SSIS package, so I attempted the following:

Code Snippet
    string pkgLocation = "My Package";
    Package ssisPackage;
    Application ssisApp = new Application();
    DTSExecResult ssisPackageResults;

ssisPackage.ImportConfigurationFile("E:\\SSIS_Configs\\My Package BOGUS.dtsconfig");
    ssisPackage.Variables["TestVar"].Value = "test";
    ssisPackageResults = ssisPackage.Execute();
    Console.WriteLine(ssisPackage.Variables["TestVar"].Value);
    Console.WriteLine(ssisPackage.Variables["RecCount"].Value);
    Console.WriteLine(ssisPackageResults.ToString());
    foreach (DtsError pkgerror in ssisPackage.Errors)
       {
       string err = "Error Source: " + ssisPackage.Name + ": " + pkgerror.Source + " Description: " + pkgerror.Description;
       Console.WriteLine(err);
       }

The line where I'm importing a configuration file works fine if I use a "real" configuration file, as expected.  For testing error handling, I put in a "bogus" file name, but no errors occur!  The package still runs (using the default configuration file).  This isn't critical, but why would I not get some sort of error trying to run ImportConfigurationFile with a bad filename?  The setting SuppressConfigurationWarnings is set to False.