none
RESTORE SQL SERVER 2008

Question

• Hello I am new in SQL SERVER 2008, and

how can I do RESTORE DATABASE using my file mdf?

Tuesday, July 17, 2012 2:40 AM

Answers

• Hello Irisul yes I got it, thanks!!!!

This database is AdventureWorks2008R2, It's a database model for study that's right.

After this I couldn't access the tables althought existing the tables in database.

I have this error now: "Msg 208, Level 16, State 1, Line 1 Invalid object name 'ProductInventory."

But I can see the tables with this comand: SELECT * FROM sys.tables

What's your opinion about it Irisul?

rodrigobrs111

• Marked as answer by rodrigobrs1 Tuesday, August 14, 2012 7:17 PM
    Monday, July 23, 2012 11:28 PM

All replies

• You use restore from a backup, the .mdf file is not a backup but is the actual database data file. Instead for database data files (.mdf) and database log files (.ldf) you use the database attach method to attach them to SQL Server (note that you can potentially have secondary database data files (.ndf) if they exist). Anyway to attach the .mdf file as a database in SQL Server follow the steps outlined in the article below, you can do this via SQL Server Management Studio...

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms190209(v=sql.100).aspx

(Note: to elaborate a database restore is achieved from a database backup file(s), so once you have attached the database above via the .mdf/ldf files you can then take a database backup from with SQL Server Management Studio which usually has the file extension .bak, it is from this .bak database backup that you can then perform a database restore).

Thanks

/Neil Moorthy - Senior SQL Server DBA/Developer (MCITP (2005/2008), MCAD, ITILv3, OCA 11g) Please click the Mark as Answer button if a post solves your problem

Tuesday, July 17, 2012 3:12 AM
  • If you need to restore the mdf only without ldf run this query:

USE [master]
    GO
    EXEC sp_attach_single_file_db @dbname='TestDb',