none
Multi-User Acces Using SQL Server Express

Question

• I am new to SQL Server but have been using Access to provide Multi-User acces to a central data store.  We are evaluating the replacement of Access with SQL Server.  With Access we don't need any special installation; I believe that the Jet Database Engine installed locally on each user's PC allows them to work with this in a disconnected manner; we use ADO.net 2.0 with VB.net 2005. 

If each user has a locally installed SQL Server Express can they all attach to a database that resides on a shared network location?

In another post on the Forum I see the following regarding multi-user access:

Our application You will need to pick a central computer that everyone will be using the access the data and attach the file to the parent instance of SQL Express on that comuter, giving it a name that you can use to access it. Then you will need to modify your connection string to connect to the named database on the central server...

Can multiple locally installed SQL Server Express instances attach to a single data store that resides on a shared network location?

If not, what permissions do I need to create a parent instance of SQL Server Express?

Thank you for helping me understand how to implement our solution.

JudiR

Thursday, March 27, 2008 1:48 PM

Answers

• Hello,

For each company, it's better to create a different database. All these databases may belong to an unique instance, that's to say there is only one "workstation" where is residing the Sql Server, with all the files residing on this workstation.

I did not remember how many databases may exist on an unique instance ( at least 37,000 ).

But before you arrive to 37,000 databases, you would have problem of memory on your workstation ( and also problem of drive spaces )

To create a database, you have only to use a full creation script of a database.

You have

to read this script file in a String