none
Error: 0xC002F210 at Preparation SQL- Table `Query` already exists

Question

• Hi everyone,

I've googled this but have come up with very few results and none of them seem to be relevant to my issue.

I'm using VS2008 with SQL Server 2005 and have used the import export wizard to retrieve data from a table and insert it into an excel file. Everything works fine the first time I run it but after that I get this error.

Error: 0xC002F210 at Preparation SQL Task 1, Execute SQL Task: Executing the query "CREATE TABLE `Query` (
    `date` DateTime,
    `firstname..." failed with the following error: "Table 'Query' already exists.". Possible failure reasons: Problems with the query, "ResultSet" property not set correctly, parameters not set correctly, or connection not established correctly.
    Task failed: Preparation SQL Task 1

I'm rather new to SSIS and would appreciate any help with this.

Thanks
    Thursday, August 27, 2009 4:28 PM

Answers

• yes that is because the Table (or in other words excel sheet) exists in the excel file,
    it's like asking can you  CREATE 2 tables with the same name in the same DB ? NO you can't

here you have the same situation, to by pass this is to rename the file each time to

@Filename + @ CurrentDate + ".xls"   ----> you wil get       FileName 2009-08-24 12:41:30.xls
    use a a script task and variable to do that before the CREATE TABLE ......

PLEASE MODIFY MY CODE AND YOU"LL GET THE SAME RESULT

Dim strDate As String

strDate = DateTime.Now.ToString("yyyy-MM-dd-HHmmssff")

Dim strDesFolderPath As String
            Dim strPathAndFileName As String
            Dim strTemp As String
            Dim strLen As Integer
            Dim strPointer As Integer
            '' Last "\" in the string from the right hand side of the string
            Dim LastSlashPosition As Integer
            Dim strFileName As String

'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
            '