none
Need Distinct Count measure that does not count NULL values

Question

•  

Hi, all.  I am VERY new to Analysis cubes, although an experienced SQL developer.  I am using SQL Server Analysis Services 2008.

I have created a cube relating to employee project tracking.  In the Master Fact Table, you will see EmployeeID, ProjectID, HoursPerWeek, ConsultantFlag, WeekStartDate.  I need to be able to get a distinct count of Consultants and Non-Consultants so that we can do various analyses based on the percentage of hours worked by consultants vs. non-consultants. 

I originally thought I could sum up the Consultant flag somehow, but that's incorrect.  My first attempt at setting up the table looked something like this:

ID     Project     Hours     Consultant     Week    

123      A             25           0                  1

123      B             15           0                  1

234      A             10          1                   1

234      C             30           1                  1

etc.

So then I set up additional columns so that I could use DistinctCount measures, something like this:

ID     Project     Hours     Consultant     Week     ConsultantID     EmployeeID

123      A             25           0                  1            NULL               123

123      B             15           0                  1            NULL               123

234      A             10          1                   1            234                  NULL  

234      C             30           1                  1            234                  NULL

etc.

I would expect a distinct count of ConsultantID's working on Project B to give me the value 0, but it gives the value 1 because it counts NULL values.  I have tried all kinds of settings but I can't seem to change it so that Distinct Count ignores empty values (Why do they have "Count ignore empty values" but not "Distinct Count ignore empty values"!)