none
Database Unit Test support in SSDTs

Question

• Hello,

I'm using the SSDTs to develop a database project. Now I want to test the project with unit tests. I created a unit test project with a database unit test. 

First, is this the right way to test an SSDT database project?

Additionally...

In the Test database configuration I wanted to select a database-project, which should be deployed before the tests will be executed. Therefore I have to choose an *.dbproj file. But my database project is an *.sqlproj file. What is the difference.

I'm very new to database unit testing. Maybe these are pretty stupid questions.

Anyway, I appreciate every help!

Cincerely,

Uli

Thursday, June 14, 2012 3:16 PM

Answers

• SSDT does not come with database unit testing, like Visual Studio 2010 database projects (*.dbproj). However you can use the Visual Studio 2010 Databse Unit Tests in combination with SQL Server Data Tools database projects (*.sqlproj). You will not have Schema View integration (Create Unit Test), data generation does not work and the test framework will not automaticly deploy the database.

To make it work you simply update the database connection string in the app.config, to point it to the (localdb) instance of your project, in my case this was (localdb)\DBProjUnitTest and set the Initial Catalog to the database name.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
    <configuration>
        <configSections>
            <section name="DatabaseUnitTesting" type="Microsoft.Data.Schema.UnitTesting.Configuration.DatabaseUnitTestingSection, Microsoft.Data.Schema.UnitTesting, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a" />
        </configSections>
        <DatabaseUnitTesting>
            <DataGeneration ClearDatabase="true" />
            <ExecutionContext Provider="System.Data.SqlClient" ConnectionString="Data Source=(localdb)\DBProjUnitTest;Initial Catalog=DBProjDB;Integrated Security=True;Pooling=False"