none
getting only date from datetime using expressions (and some rant about expressions in ssis)

Question

•  

Hi all,

I am new to ssis but not new to programming and bi software.

I am trying to set a precedence constrains between two tasks in control flow based on a success of a date comparison

Something like getdate() > @Mydate.

Problem is the dates are stored with time in it and even though the date part is same in both sides of the "<" sign the time gets in the way.

Now i'v looked in alot of blogs, help files, BOL, forums, etc etc etc

And seems the topic of getting the date out of date part is something alot of people have opinions on

But no where I found how to do it using ssis expressions

Is there a way?? Plz plz help as I spent over 3 hours on this one single silly problem

And speaking of expressions in ssis

This is really something I cannot believe,

Here is a list of complaints I have regarding expressions and editing expressions in ssis.

1. How can one be expected to write an expression inside the derived column task when all the space is inside a single line that you have to constantly scroll left and right when you need to write a bit complex expression? It's even worse when you want to do it inside the precedence constraint dialog box. At least the derived column gives you some help with the list of functions. Why couldn't there be a global expression edit box that you can open on the entire screen with help and easy manipulation of code???????