none
Sql 2005 replication and clustering

General discussion

• Hello All,

your Help is needed here, frankly i have no previous experience on SQL and one of my customer asking me to implement SQL Replication for him in another site which mean any update on the main SQL will be replicated to new installation in the remote site. is this possible? and what i need exactly to do? taking into the consderation SQL is installed now on windows server 2008 R2 standard edition 64 bit.

Your help is needed and much appreciated.

Ahmed Al-Ahmed MCITP Enterprise Administrator

Monday, December 10, 2012 12:24 PM

All replies

• Monday, December 10, 2012 12:30 PM
  • Dear Uri,

Thanks for your reply, but let me clear things. the server already installed and the application already runing with SQL 2005. is it possible to replicate it to another server in another site?

Monday, December 10, 2012 12:36 PM
  • Be careful about terminology.  "Replication" is a specific SQL technology that allows for copies of the data (not the database) to be synchronized to multiple locations.  There is also the generic concept of "replication" where the actual databases are synchronized to multiple locations.  If you are building a failover system then SQL "Replication" is not a suitable solution. 

Geoff N. Hiten Principal Consultant Microsoft SQL Server MVP

Monday, December 10, 2012 3:07 PM
  • As Geoff mentioned, SQL "replication" is a specific term to describe a specific SQL feature. If you are talking in more general terms as is moving data from site A to site B then you need to investigate all the available options including the aformention replication, plus log shipping and database mirroring (though with SQL Standard Edition I wouldn't recommend that for cross site replication).  There are also 3rd party replication solutions as well that can replicate at the block level.