none
Encryption using ENCRYPTBYKEY and DECRYPTBYKEY SQL 2008

Question

• I'm trying to make sure that my calls to ENCRYPTBYKEY and DECRYPTBYKEY work correctly before I implement them in my Stored Procedures.  So far they all work correctly and I get no errors. 

However, when I DECRYPT THE DATA with DECRYPTBYKEY the resultset comes back as NULL values.  This is my first attempt at column encryption so I'm not sure if I missed a step or not.

Here are the statements that I am using, and the datatypes I have to work with are IMAGE and VARBINARY:

/* Create Database Master Key  */
    CREATE MASTER KEY ENCRYPTION
    BY PASSWORD = 'MyPa$$w0rd'
    GO

/* Create Encryption Certificate  */
    CREATE CERTIFICATE MyTestEncryptCertificate
    WITH SUBJECT = 'MyTest'
    GO

/* Create Symmetric Key  */
    CREATE SYMMETRIC KEY MyTestKey
    WITH ALGORITHM = TRIPLE_DES ENCRYPTION
    BY CERTIFICATE MyTestEncryptCertificate
    GO

/* Encrypt Data using Key and Certificate  */
    OPEN SYMMETRIC KEY MyTestKey DECRYPTION
    UPDATE MyTestTable
    SET Data = CAST(ENCRYPTBYKEY(KEY_GUID('MyTestKey'), CAST(Data AS VARBINARY)) AS IMAGE)
    GO

/* Decrypt the data */
    SELECT CONVERT(IMAGE,DECRYPTBYKEY(CAST(Data AS VARBINARY))) AS Data
    FROM MyTestTable
    GO

/* Clean up database  */
    DROP SYMMETRIC KEY MyTestKey
    GO
    DROP CERTIFICATE MyTestEncryptCertificate
    GO
    DROP MASTER KEY
    GO

If I test with datatypes that are VARCHAR and VARBINARY those statements will work just fine, but IMAGE not so much so.

My table structure is:

col1 (PK, int, not null)
    col2 (FK, int, not null)
    col3 (image, null)
    col4 (int, null)

Here is my Server Info that I am working on:

Version: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (SP3) - 10.0.5500.0 (X64)   Sep 21 2011 22:45:45   Copyright (c) 1988-2008 Microsoft Corporation 
      Developer Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.1 <X64> (Build 7601: Service Pack 1) 
    Edition: Developer Edition (64-bit)