none
Replication: periodic initial snapshot not yet available

Question

• I have a push subscriprion (publisher sql2000, distributor 2005,  subscriber sql2005) that periodically (twice per month) changes it's status to " ... initial snapshot not yet available ...". Then I need to mark it as for reinitialization and start the snapshot agent (starting the snapshot agent without marking it for reinitilization doesn't starts the subscription to initilize itself). There is nothing important in the logs. Any suggestion why this may happen ? The network connections between distributor and subscribers sometimes are broken (it's over VPN), but there is a couple of other replication that goes the same way and they are fine...
    Thursday, August 10, 2006 9:12 PM

Answers

• Danschl, the issue is caused by proc sp_replmonitorsubscriptionpendingcmds, inside this proc we end up calling proc sp_MSreset_subscription_seqno depending on certain conditions.  This last proc is the crux of the problem, why we call it inside sp_replmonitorsubscriptionpendingcmds is beyond me.  In short, this is a bug in the product which will be filed shortly.

So yes you're correct in that shutting down replication monitor will avoid the problem since it calls this proc directly, however many customers call this proc manually as well.  Shutting it down or increasing the refresh threshold can help.

The other easy workaround would be to set @immediate_sync to false for your publication.  If you do this, you should be able to safely run replication monitor and not hit this problem as the problematic proc is dependent on this parameter being set to true.

By the way, it took one of our devs forever to figure out this problem since we could never had a good repro, but it's good that the problem is now identified and hopefully the workarounds suggested above will suffice until this is fixed in the next service pack or release.