none
Could not find server "Server" in sys.servers error and Database Reference question

Question

• Like most, I am very new to SSDT.   The one aspect of SSDT that I am somewhat confused about is Stored Procs or even Views that reference tables on other Servers via Linked Servers.

I have a Stored Procedure that selects from another Database Server and when I try to deploy, I get the error: "Could not find server "ReferencedServer" in sys.servers etc etc".  Now, I created a new SSDT project for the ReferencedServer and I am referencing it in my main SSDT Project but still getting the error.

Is the Stored Proc trying to find "Server.Database.Schema.Table" in the new localdb SQL Server 11 Database or is it connecting to the real instance?  I am completely lost and just can't find any solution to this.  Maybe I did the references wrong or there is another step I am missing.  As far as I can tell, when you add new SSDT Project Databases, it just puts them in the localdb, even if it is on a different Server, so if the Stored Proc is trying to access "Server.Database.Schema.Table" locally, that path will never exist because everything is in localdb.

Windows 7/SP1

Visual Studio 2010 Professional/SP1

Main SSDT Database: SQL Server 2008R2

Referenced Database: SQL Server 2005

Friday, March 09, 2012 10:12 PM

Answers

• You can override the use of localdb at anytime.  If you have a test server available you can configure SSDT to deploy to it during F5.  In the Build properties of the project it defaults to localdb, but you can change it if you wish.  Ultimately if you do want to disable F5 you'll find the ability under Build.Configuration Manager.
    Sunday, March 11, 2012 4:28 AM

All replies

• So no one has any experience with Stored Procs in one SSDT databse project that pulls data from another database server?