none
add header and footer ssis

Question

• hello I have a ssis package which exports data from a query into a flat file, which will be used to import into a data warehouse. One of the requirements is to add a header row with the current date, with some other bits and pieces, and a footer row with total row count. I would like to do this ideally in one script component or task using C# for tidiness in the package. I'm a noob when it comes to writing code so could do with some help! How can this be done? I've looked at some of the other examples but nothing quite matches what I want... I've pasted my current attempt below, but am getting invalid entry point for some reason even though the entry point is set to main?  Please help! Ideally i'd like to read in all my data from the flat file, then insert a header row at the top and footer at the bottom, i've been struggling with this for ages!

/*
       Microsoft SQL Server Integration Services Script Task
       Write scripts using Microsoft Visual C# 2008.
       The ScriptMain is the entry point class of the script.
    */

using System;
    using System.IO;
    using System.Data;
    using System.Text;
    using Microsoft.SqlServer.Dts.Runtime;
    using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace ST_de84dc4752634b8cb463af6bef2fa22c.csproj
    {
        [System.AddIn.AddIn("ScriptMain", Version = "1.0", Publisher = "", Description = "")]
        public partial class ScriptMain : Microsoft.SqlServer.Dts.Tasks.ScriptTask.VSTARTScriptObjectModelBase
        {

#region VSTA generated code
            enum ScriptResults
            {
                Success = Microsoft.SqlServer.Dts.Runtime.DTSExecResult.Success,
                Failure = Microsoft.SqlServer.Dts.Runtime.DTSExecResult.Failure
            };
            #endregion

/*
                The execution engine calls this method when the task executes.
                To access the object model, use the Dts property. Connections, variables, events,