none
Cannot connect to SQL 2008 Express from VB 2008 Express

Question

• I installed VB 2008 Express with SP1 and SQL 2008 Express. However, I cannot link to SQL 2008 Express from  VB 2008 Express. Please Help.

Since I'm new to this environment, I may not even be asking the right question. A brief background: I did some minimal work with VB 2008 Express - creating an sdf database and some forms that interacted with the database. I also did some minimal work with SQL 2008 Express, running some queries against the AdventureWorks Database. When I tried to create a form in VB 2008 Express that accessed the AdventureWorks Database in SQL 2008 Express, I have been unable to figure out how to create the needed connection.

Wednesday, November 26, 2008 3:07 AM

All replies

• Use a SQLConnection to connect to the database.  A SQLConnectionStringBuilder can help you create your connection string.  Then use SQLCommand's and SQLDataReader's (or other objects) to process the data.  Let me know if you have any specific questions and I can provide more detailed examples.

HTH....

• Proposed as answer by deman Friday, March 19, 2010 12:57 AM
    Wednesday, November 26, 2008 6:07 AM
  • AA - Your proposed solution appears to involve the writing of VB code. If I were to go that direction, wouldn't I miss out on the ability to use the drag and drop features for creating forms in VB 2008 Express? I was hoping to find a solution that permits me to use the Data Sources Window to "Add a New Data Source". Did I misunderstand your response? If so, I guess I need a more detailed step by step road map. If not, I still need help to gain access to the db via the Data Sources Window.

Wednesday, November 26, 2008 4:02 PM