none
Error 1418 and Good Basic Setup Guide

Question

• Hi,

I'm new to DB Mirroring, and I am trying to get it going in a test enviroment between two SQL 2005 Dev Servers. I have followed documentation that I have found but cannot get past a 1418 error when establishing a connection between the servers initially. Does anyone know of any good step by step guides that I could look at, in case I have missed something stupid.

Thanks in advance

Stupots

Friday, June 16, 2006 3:03 PM

All replies

• Hi,

the easiest way is to run the sql services of all partners as local admins (domain user), then there should not be a great problem to establish a session. Furthermore make sure, that you mack a full backup and a transaction log backup what you both restore on the mirror. While establishing the mirroring session ensure that no further trans. log backup proceeds.

Thats it. ;-)

Torsten

• Proposed as answer by vr.babu Tuesday, September 11, 2012 3:48 PM
    Monday, June 19, 2006 8:23 AM
  • Look at the troubleshooting section for setting up mirroring in BOL.

Thanks,

Mark

Monday, June 19, 2006 3:21 PM
  • Great, thanks for that, I'm sure it's something simple that is stopping it working properly! I'll have another play.
    Tuesday, June 20, 2006 9:53 AM
  • Hi,

Still having major problems with this.

So far I have tried:

1. Set my main database to 'FULL' recovery mode, with autoclose set to false.

2.Backed the databse to my mirror server with NORECOVERY and left it in a restoring state.

3. Used the following T-SQL on both servers to create my endpoints, using port 5022 on the principal and port 5023 on the mirror:

create endpoint mirror

state=started

as tcp(listener_port = 5022)

for database_mirroring (role =partner)

4. I'm using a domain account on both servers, and I granted connect permissions to the endpoints using:

grant connect

on endpoint::mirror

TO [DOMAIN\DOMAINUSER]