none
Transaction Log Backup Failure

Question

• Hi

I have a job that runs full backs and that was successfull but all my transaction log backups failed. This is the error message i get:

1.VDI error 1010: Failed to get configuration from server. Check that the SQL Server instance is running, and that you have the SQL Server Systems Administrator server role. Error code: (-2139684861: The api was waiting and the timeout interval had elapsed.)

2.SQL error 3013: BACKUP LOG is terminating abnormally.

3.SQL error 4214: BACKUP LOG cannot be performed because there is no current database backup.

Please assist.

Monday, May 26, 2008 1:09 PM

All replies

• Since you have a VDI Error, you are using a third party application to do you SQL Backups.  What do the logs in the third party application show?

Monday, May 26, 2008 2:19 PM
  •  

Hi

Thank you for replying to my post.

However i am relatively new in SQL Server and i am lost when you say third party application. I monitor my backups using RedGate and there is also SQL Server 2005 Management Studio that is use.

If you dont mind me asking where would i go to search for the third party application and the other two errors do you have an idea what they mean.

I have been looking at other forums and someone posted a reply for the error: BACKUP LOG cannot be performed because there is no current database backup  and their response was :

The correct way to discard the log backup chain is to switch to the SIMPLE recovery model.  Once you've decided to resume log backups, switch to FULL recovery model, take a full or differential backup and then start taking log backups again.

Thanks

Rea

Monday, May 26, 2008 2:53 PM