none
SQL Server error 53 How do I find my server name to connect to server

Question

• I am new to SQL Server 2008 Developer edition for class online. I do not know my computer name/ server name to connect to server to start a database project. Please help me to find the info to open the database. Assignment due 4/5/2010. My computer is a Dell wireless laptop with Windows XP Home edition. I am getting error 53 and 40. Cannot connect to server and named pipes provider.

The error message I got was: ...A sever was not found or accessable. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (Provider: Named Pipes provider error 40- could not open connection to SQL Server). (Microsoft SQL Server error 53).

I know what I named my computer but I don't know if that is the name I use to connect to the Server and I don't know what the server name would be. Where would I find that and what do I enter into the dialog box to establish a connection? I have not set up any database or server in the Database Engine or other areas of this program. This is a brand new copy I purchased and installed recently.

Friday, April 02, 2010 6:40 PM

Answers

• >>How do I find my server name to connect to server

One way to tell is on the command prompt enter hostname which will be the name of your computer

right click on "My Computer", properties and select the "Computer Name" tab

and if you have installed SQL as a deafult instance; SQL Server will have same name as of your computer.

Alternatively, you can try on the command prompt SQLCMD /L

SQLCMD /L will list all SQL server in your network.

Friday, April 02, 2010 7:36 PM

All replies

• >>How do I find my server name to connect to server

One way to tell is on the command prompt enter hostname which will be the name of your computer

right click on "My Computer", properties and select the "Computer Name" tab