none
Versioning of Members within a Model

Frage

• I am new to MDS in 2012, but I looking into how well it could work as our PDM/PIM system.  Currently we use excel extensively, and have a combination of excel integration and manual entry from excel into our different systems, such as Quality, Manufacturing, Accounting/Purchasing.  Our goal is to have a single repository for all product data.  We would be comfortable using the Excel add-on so that the couple of data admins could upload/change data.  Everyone else, and our different systems would use the data subscription views. 

My concern, or lack of understanding relates to versions.  It seems like the model (which I equate to as a database/table holding all product records) is what is versioned, rather than a specific member  (which would be a single product).  Is that the case?  If we have 2 product changes a week, I'd like to only change the version on those two products not on the whole model.

Is that possible?  Perhaps the better question, Is MDS in 2012 ready to be a PIM/PDM?  I know there are lots of PIM/PDM products out there, most seem to have more functionality, and cost than we need.

Thanks,

Aaron

Donnerstag, 21. Februar 2013 13:40

Alle Antworten

• Model Versioning

-addresses how the model as a whole is published to the enterprise

-lets you take periodic snapshots of a whole model

-enables you to purge historical change data after a while

MDS also tracks attribute-level history for all entitiy members.  So you change a Product.Description, it keeps a record of who, when and why that change was made.

For entity member versioning, that's one of the many things you will need to "bake in" to your entity design.  For instance you can add a ProductVersion to track the version and ProductVersionStatus to drive workflow around version changes and wire it together with Business Rules.

David

David http://blogs.msdn.com/b/dbrowne/

Donnerstag, 21. Februar 2013 13:48
  • Aaron,