none
adventureworks2008 hangs pc hard

Dotaz

• What is going on?

Ive been working with SQL dbs for around 10 years.  Ive just bought the mcts exam 70-433 DB development book.  Ive installed northwind and adventureworksdw2008 no problem.  Trying to install adventureworks2008 hangs my pc hard.  Explorer.exe nonresponsive.  All applications hang.  Ive tried to install via configuration management and tsql.  Im not a newbie, but even if i was, is this the shiny robot 2012 future i was promised?  Where some problem occurs and the entire pc goes down ?  Is this really it?  This is the MS future?  Honestly ?  Is it acceptable to have to trawl around the web to try and understand how to install a SAMPLE db ? 

Im absolutely bewildered by this.  Not neccesarily the install problem, i mean these things happen however annoying.  But to hang the system solid like it was 1984 and everything was perched on top of msdos ?

Ive installed everything completely and utterly to spec, rebooted of course, even reinstalled SQL2008.  Same issue.  Nothing in event viewer beyond "Starting up database AdventureWorks2008".

This is a SAMPLE db just to get people some tables to play with right ?

16. února 2012 19:55

Odpovědi

• Thanks for taking the time to reply, I appreciate it.

Ive calmed down a bit now :)   (holding on to the '1' key to get a unique name is perhaps a sign to close eyes and breathe a little)

To get this to work I had to download the adventureworks DB from the web.  I cannot get the db from the CD installed.  Using the same t-sql, or just attaching it from the GUI on the downloaded version works fine.