none
3D Permission Policy Best Practice

Question

• In learning about Silverlight 3D's inconvenient security authorization process (as described here:http://blogs.msdn.com/b/eternalcoding/archive/2011/10/18/some-reasons-why-my-3d-is-not-working-with-silverlight-5.aspx), I'm curious whether anyone has implemented, seen, or dreamt up any good work arounds.  I've just ported a 2D XNA game (that does draw some vector graphics with the BasicEffect) to run in a browser, and would like to make this as easily accessible to players as possible.  I'm not very experienced with silverlight or web permissions, and don't know whether there are any alternatives to trying to help users navigate through the silverlight configuration tool.  Some thoughts about options that I'm not yet well informed enough to evaluate follow:

• load the configurations dialog from silverlight, to make that part of the process easier
    • have silverlight app run with elevated trust and/or out of browser (unsure whether easier or harder for users)
    • fall back on a non-GPUEnabled rendering path (I don't believe this is possible, but am not sure?)
    I'm very interested in hearing what people think about these options, as well as any other options that I may not have thought of.  Again, my goal is to make it as easy as possible for people to play my game.
    Best, Gary.
    Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:17 PM

Answers

All replies

• load the configurations dialog from silverlight, to make that part of the process easier

You can save configurations in Isolated storage.

have silverlight app run with elevated trust and/or out of browser (unsure whether easier or harder for users)

I think if you want to create a game,in browser is enough. save files in Isolated storage and then run the game.(it's just like flash)

fall back on a non-GPUEnabled rendering path (I don't believe this is possible, but am not sure?)

don't know what is the non-GPUEnabled rendering path.

but one article: