none
Peak Memory Blowing 90MB Limit

Question

• I am quite new to WP7 development and was reading some articles around people blowing the 90MB memory threshold that is set for applicatgion submission.

I have a my MainPage.xaml with 12 buttons with images (4KB each) and each one goes to a new page as follows:

MainPage.xaml -> Button 1 -> Page1.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 2 -> Page2.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 3 -> Page3.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 4 -> Page4.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 5 -> Page5.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 6 -> Page6.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 7 -> Page7.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 8 -> Page8.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 9 -> Page9.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 10 -> Page10.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 11 -> Page11.xaml
    MainPage.xaml -> Button 12 -> Page12.xaml

Each of these sub pages has just plain text in the TextBlock control and nothing else!  I am using a StackPanel within a ScrollViewer to show the text.

I am sure the PeakMemory usage on the screen everything I navagate between the pages and the memory grows and grows.  What am I doing wrong?  Is there a way to free up memory everytime I navigate back i.e.  If I am on Page1.xaml and navigate back to the MainPage.xaml, can I free memory up by clearing items and text?

Thanks for all your time.

Aaron

Wednesday, October 12, 2011 5:09 PM

Answers

• Judging by the information here, you did nothing wrong. It's not normal for such a simple application to consume or even leak memory in that way. I have built several applications, mostly for my developer trainings, and even with multiple pages and graphical features they barely exceed 30-40 MB.

Just to be clear on this: in the first post, you said that the peak memory "grows and grows". In the last post, you're saying that the "PeakMemory counter never drops down".