none
Silverlight Not Working on Google Chrome

Question

• Anyone download Google's new browser Chrome? As a developer I have no choice.

Silverlight is not working on Google browser. Anyone else experiencing this?

This would really suck if Google is doing this on purpose and small fry developers like me, excited about Silverlight, get caught in the vice of two titans (Microsoft & Google) going at it for browser domianace.

I tested flash app websites and they load fine. Silverlight websites do not load at all. As a matter of fact, this website:

http://www.medialunacafe.com.br/beta/

registers a page error on Google Chrome.

I cannot learn Silverlight if Chrome won't work with it.

• Moved by mbanavige Thursday, September 04, 2008 5:41 AM Migration data
    Tuesday, September 02, 2008 5:05 PM

Answers

• So don't use Chrome -_-

I'm trying and Silverlight works but really really badly. It seems it's based on plugin installed on Firefox so if you installed Silverlight on FF it "works" with Chrome.

http://wildermuth.com/2008/09/02/Silverlight_2_and_Google_Chrome

Tuesday, September 02, 2008 5:14 PM
  • Google Chrome is still a very new browser and not in mainstream. I don't think Microsoft will develop the runtime in it in short time, since we cannot determine whether it will success. It is not a problem of Microsoft, I think.

I have tried it, but the performance was really bad. Just like previous thread said, it accepts the firefox SL runtime, but not fully compatible and stable now. My opinion is Google should fix those problems now.

Thursday, September 04, 2008 11:22 AM
  • You can use IE 8 Beta, Silverlight run very well in these browser, and IE 8 beta es very similar to Google chrome.

Thursday, September 04, 2008 8:04 PM

All replies

• So don't use Chrome -_-

I'm trying and Silverlight works but really really badly. It seems it's based on plugin installed on Firefox so if you installed Silverlight on FF it "works" with Chrome.