none
BING MAPS INVALID CREDENTIALS

Question

• Hi everyone. My name is Samuel and i'm a student part of an internship with Microsoft PR. I have to build an application that use Bing Maps. The first stage of the app is that it have to allow me to "click" on a specific location and save it in a list so I can search for it later. I'm thinking to save the lat. and lon. into the isolated storage BUT, when I run the app in the emulator it comes with the message "Invalid Credentials, Please Sign up as Developer Account". I have a developer account and I have the key already and I wrote it at the .xmal as you can see in the following example:

<my:Map CredentialsProvider="dc59d3eb-8d3c-4721-933c-4c4265d8****"  Height="524" Width="429" HorizontalAlignment="Left" Margin="14,263,0,0" Name="mapSaveLocations"  VerticalAlignment="Top" />

Why I keep receiving the same message? Can I still access to all the features of this control even with that message at the front of the map? What i'm doing wrong?? Any workaround??

I will really appreciate your answers.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 12:20 AM

Answers

• Hi all,

I just registered for an Bing Maps API and started getting this message. I originally generated a key using the following details

• Application Name: Test
    • Application URL: http://localhost
    • Application Type: Evaluation/Trial

I was getting this message and decided to go back in to the Bing Maps Centre/Portal and generate a new key. However, this time I used the following details:

• Application Name: Test2
    • Application Type: Metro Style Apps (Beta)

The next time I ran my application in my development environment the message no longer appeared!

Hope this help/works for you.

Seán

Thursday, April 05, 2012 9:56 PM

All replies

• Hi Samuel, your credentialsprovider looks like a guid and not like the 'key' that I was given and use. In any case please do not post your' key' here in case any unscrupulous people get a hold of it :O