none
VS 2010 and Silverlight are complete crap

Question

• While trying to develop a silverlight 4 control using VS 2010 my development environment crashes as least 10 times/hour, making any development impossible. Also, once I do end up getting a control working they randomly start throwing the following error: "Invalid or malformed application: Check manifest" after absolutely 0 changes have been made. It runs fine, then I run it again and I get this error. There is no solution as far as I can tell and I have had to actuall start entirely new projects at least 5 times now. This is the most unstable, frustrating piece of crap I have ever worked with and will NEVER use silverlight again. Why release something when it is in such an unstable state???

• Moved by mbanavige Wednesday, June 08, 2011 8:11 PM Migration data
    Tuesday, June 07, 2011 2:03 PM

Answers

• I have been using SL4 and VS2010 for over 12 months and have had no problem with it, this is my day job and I use this environment all the time.

What other applications are you running on the machine ?

Can you rebuild the machine ?

Does task manager show, low memory, low disk space, excessive disk activity ?

Run Memtest86 and checkdisk/defrag etc.

Are any of the files you are working with accessed over the network, try and use local copies.

Are you using 3rd party controls/libraries, can you try and remove the dependancy.

what if you create a new solution ?

Thursday, June 09, 2011 7:27 AM

All replies

• I have been using SL4 and VS2010 for over 12 months and have had no problem with it, this is my day job and I use this environment all the time.

What other applications are you running on the machine ?

Can you rebuild the machine ?

Does task manager show, low memory, low disk space, excessive disk activity ?

Run Memtest86 and checkdisk/defrag etc.

Are any of the files you are working with accessed over the network, try and use local copies.