none
For those experienced RIA developers, how are you handling complex queries?

Question

• Hello Everyone,

I'm fairly new to silverlight and ria services, but I love em! One item that seems to be a bit clunkly is creating and returning complex objects. For instance, if I want to retrieve data from a table that is more than one table away, how would you handle that with a .Include? In a situation where I have a centralized table, say I'm selecting from customer, and I retrieve all customer orders through the fk, but also want to retrieve all of the stores in which the order was placed, so an fk off order, how do you pull that off? Certainely the customer isn't directly linking to the store, so the .Include statement is going to send me packing.

What types of strategies are you guys using in these cases?

Thanks a bunch everyone,

Ryan

Monday, September 06, 2010 9:31 PM

Answers

• You can have multiple includes and each include can have an entire path. For example, you can put in .Include("Orders.Stores").

However, in Entity Framework such an include will tend to have very bad performance as it is an include across a Many. The performance is within SQL Server and Entity Framework and has nothing to do with RIA Services. What I would do in that situation is load Orders instead of Customers. I would then do a .Include("Stores").Include("Customers") to load the related entities. In cases where you get even more multiples involved(.Include("Stores.Departments") then I use separate loads.

Tuesday, September 07, 2010 4:03 PM

All replies

• I can only add my humble efforts to this as I have a fairly complex project on the go at the moment and I have questions relating to this as well.

I am loading lookup data into a static class on the application load.

This uses a batch load function to load 10 lookup tables that are used in combo boxes etc in the application.