none
DataService Convert From ObservableCollection to List<Type>

Question

• I am currently working on my first test using SL 4 and a service to return data:

I am reading an XML file --> formatting into a class type RSSItems, however when the data is returned I get an ObservableCollection<ToadWebservice.RSSItem>.  I cannot seem to figure out how to get it into the type I need. <ToadReader.RSSItem>.

Any ideas?  This is my first attempt with this type of project and I am unsure if I am even going down the right path.

example:

List<RSSItem> myFeeds = e.Result;

Get an error on the conversion of e.Result to List<RSSItem>.

Thanks,

Just A Little Frustrated...

Todd

Thursday, October 21, 2010 3:21 PM

Answers

• How are you reading your xml file?

You can download it into the silverlight client using WebClient,

1. Which will give you the complete xml content as string.

2. Then convert the string into a XDocument using XDocument.Parse(xmlContentString).

3. Perform a simpe LINQ on XDocument object and convert into whatever type you need.

Eg.

foreach (XElement name in NamesXml.Descendants("content"))
                        {
                            Member member = new Member();
                            member.MemberUniqueName = name.Attribute("UniqueName").Value;
                            member.MemberKey = name.Attribute("Key").Value;                                               					
                            member.MemberName = name.Attribute("Name").Value;                        
                            member.Description = name.Attribute("Description").Value;
                            myMembers.Add(member);
                        }

Friday, October 22, 2010 3:21 AM

All replies

• How are you reading your xml file?

You can download it into the silverlight client using WebClient,

1. Which will give you the complete xml content as string.

2. Then convert the string into a XDocument using XDocument.Parse(xmlContentString).