none
Implementing a Many-Many relationship on a Dataform using Silverlight and WCF

Question

• I need to implement a Many-to-Many relationship.  Any client may be assigned to one or more projects. There are likely to be a thousand or more clients and about 10 projects, increasing very slowly, in the database.

I have a page with a dataform linked to an query returning an individual client currently working, ignoring the Project side of things.

Ideally, I'd like to generate a stack or wrap panel with a series of tick boxes in the dataform; one for each project. The user would then be able to tick the approriate projects.

I am just starting out on the Silverlight journey and have been finding the terrain rocky but achieveable, so far!

Form

I'm trying to achieve something like this:

Form

Using SQL 2008, Silverlight 3, WCF and VS2008sp1

Wednesday, February 24, 2010 12:43 PM

Answers

• On top of my head (haven't tried it), here is what you can try:

Use a ItemsControl or ListBox (use StackPanel as your ItemsPanel, and set Orientation=Horizontal)  for your List of Projects. Bind the ItemsSource to the DomainContext.Projects list.  Use CheckBox inside the ListBox.  Set listBox.SelectionMode= SelectionMode.Multiple. Make sure when a Checkbox is checked, the item is selected.

Bind ListBox.SelectedItems to your Contact.Projects field.

You should be able to submit your Contact data with all the selected Projects.

Wednesday, February 24, 2010 5:29 PM
  • I found a little problem with the suggestion I gave you: you can not set binding on ListBox.SelectedItems property.

It will be a little uglier if you have to display the project list this way (use a Dual select box might be better). Here is the code I have tested:

I have a Company Entity, each company can have multiple Products.

<riaControl:DomainDataSource x:Name="DataSource" QueryName="GetCompanies" LoadSize="20" AutoLoad="True" DomainContext="{StaticResource MyDomainContext}">