none
Mystery "Undefined CLR namespace" error

Question

• This makes no sense, assuming the documentation I am working through is correct.

I am relatively new to silverlight and ria, and so am working through the "Walkthrough: Taking a Tour of RIA Services" section of the ria services documentation I obtained from http://riaservices.codeplex.com/.

I followed the instructions to the letter, and everything worked fine for roughly the first half of the 'walkthrough'.

Then I started the 'Adding New Records' section.  At that point, the EmployeeList.xaml started producing two errors.  The first is the following:

Undefined CLR namespace.  The 'clr-namespace' URI refers to a namespace 'HRApp.Web' that is not included in the assembly.

The odd thing about this is that if I delete the 'Web' part of that specification, or the whole URI, and try to re-enter it, MS VS 2010 is able to autocomplete it.

The second error is undoubtedly due to the first.  It is:

The type 'ds:OrganizationContext' was not found.  Verify that you are not missing an assembly reference and that all referenced assemblies have been built. 

Obviously, if the HRApp.Web namespace is not being found, the ds namespace isn't defined and the OrganizationContext won't be found.  Based on the last sentence in this message, I rebuilt HRApp.Web project, but that did not help.

As this is an obvious (and so far useful) introduction to silverlight and ria, I doubt I am the first to be caught by this.  Is this a well known 'gotcha'?  Why does it occur, and is there a 'rule' or generally accepted practice that avoids it?